Skip navigation

As I attempt to enter the blogging world, I find it difficult to wrap my head around things I should write about. I’ve been reading blogs daily for about three years, but never really made the leap into my own thoughts until now. What caused this metamorphasis? I think it has a lot to do with the fact that I never really see a lot of principals blogging. Sure, I see a few here and there, but nothing mind blowing and certainly none that really get to the issues that I want to read about.

So here is my attempt at starting something that is relevant to me and hopefully will provide insight into a world that a lot of teachers call “the dark side” of education. As a classroom teacher, I was in control of my own little world. I had my students, my lessons, my room, etc. Now as an administrator, I have to look at things holistically and programatically all while trying to strive for continuous improvement. With that being said, the purpose of this blog is not to write about my own personal issues, but rather, issues that face education today and how schools need to get up-to-speed in the 21st century. I don’t think that I will ever be able to completely separate my own feelings or philosophies from the issues that I discuss, but that is the great thing about this blog. I own it, so I can say what I want. I hope all that read this will challenge me as much as I hope to challenge them.

So ladies and gentlemen, I present to you the Principals of Education (pun intended). If you ever wanted to know what really goes on in the principals office, here is your chance to see.

2 Comments

  1. Teachers, of course, occupy the central role in a student’s learning but the greatest difference in any school district is made by the building principal who potentially offers the greatest number of students the greatest opportunities. Research shows great principals effect more positive change that any other single individuals

    • I totally agree. That is one of the main reasons I got into administration. What is amazing is that few people see that. Continuous improvement runs through my blood. As Jim Collins states, “It is how you move an organization from Good to Great.” Thanks for the reply. I look forward to some fierce conversations with you.


Leave a Reply

